Unintended Observations

It’s really interesting to me to watch what animals do when not ‘attended’. Saturday, I spent most of the day working on my motorcycle and mini-van. The mini-van is Lexi’s (our German Shepherd Dog (GSD)) home away from home. She LOVES to jump in the back and go places. As a Dog Trainer, Lexi goes on 98% of our calls to clients or initial prospect calls. And generally it seems she just loves to ride and look out the windows.

So as I set up Saturday to work on the rolling stock, I opened up the back mini-van hatch and started working on the bike. I tend to scatter around when I work, so let’s just say I have a messy brain? Anyhow… I went into the house to get a tool or something and Lexi wanted to come outside with me. It was really humid here in NE Ohio, but I figured, “why not?”

Lexi saw the back of the van open and ran over and jumped in! Not that her jumping in the back of the van is unusual. But as I continued to work on the van and the cycle, she just stayed in the van. In some ways, I think she was afraid that if she got out, she’d miss a trip, but otherwise, I really think she was just happy and content there and didn’t see any reason to move.

This is where we wish we knew more about her. If you remember we rescued her from a local pound. Other than knowing that she’s a GSD and female, anything else is a guess. However, in some ways I think this is good. It keeps us in the here and now. It allows us to help her socialize more and become a puppy, learn how to play and more.

So, watch your pooch. See what they like. Might be fun to chat about!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a comment